top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

SREEMAY RATH

Let's meet Sreemay Rath, currently 16 years of age and a student of Humanities of the Navy Children School, Mumbai. He is a two time gold medalist of the International English Olympiad and a holder of two junior diplomas from the University of Cambridge. He has made a project regarding the sustainable development of the Ecosystem and was awarded a prize by Kartikey Sarabhai (Son of Vikram Sarabhai) in 2014. He was one of the few students from India who recently went to the UN Headquarters in New York to take part in a Model United Nations conference as well.

He has written and published four books in total and his fifth book is to be released sometime in December 2017 by BombayKala Books.

1. Sreemay Rath, a poet, an author, an achiever. So many titles at such a young age. Share with us your journey from Sreemay rath, a teenage boy, to The Sreemay Rath, an author.

Well, it all started when I participated in the Kindle Write to Lead contest where I submitted my manuscripts. After having waited for 6 months, I got an email saying that I was one of the 25 writers from Asia who were selected for a book contract. Fortunately I happened to land a three book deal with them. I didn't know the nuances about marketing but still my first three books did reasonably well on the Amazon market. About 8 months ago, I approached Blue Rose publishers of Delhi with a poetry manuscript and I got a confirmation email after about 3 weeks saying that my manuscript has been considered for publication. So, it has indeed been an enthralling journey till now.

2. When did it hit you that writing is what you want to do?

I wrote an article for my school magazine back in the 6th grade and awarded a citation by the Director of Cambridge University, that's when I knew that writing is something I’d be good at if I practiced a lot.

3. You have written 4 books in total, The tryst with devil, Forty poetic silhouettes, Fifty-five ballandries of sorts, and Covetous. Tell us about each of these ventures of yours and how the journey has been.

I have written and published four books in total. The first three books were done in collaboration with Kindle andAmazon Global as the proprietary distributor. My books have been sold in Canada and the United States.My fourth book titled "Covetous" is a compilation of sixty poems that I have originally composed. It was published by Blue Rose Publishers (based in Delhi) and the book is available on all major e commerce platforms such as Flipkart, Shopclues and Amazon. My fourth book 'Covetous' was ranked #31 on the Amazon best sellers list for poetry. My first book was a paranormal thriller about a young girl named Junifer who experiences paranormal activities after having mocked the statue of Luhiam ( the devil's fictional dog), the next three book are compilations of poetry, most are melancholic in nature.

4. How does it feel to be amongst the Amazon best sellers at this young age of 16?

I feel it will still take some time for it sink in, being in the same list as Rabindranath Tagore is a profound honour and privilege to say the least. If I can accomplish even a quarter what he has achieved in his lifetime, then I would quite gleefully perish.

5. Any plans on writing for a zine? Or a blog?

I am currently working as an Associate Writer for this page called The Relatable Tales. In the past I have done collaborations with some of India’s largest micro tale platforms, namely The Anonymous Writer and The Scribbled Stories. I have submitted my proposal to be a Select Writer at Terribly Tiny Tales and hope to make it through as well.

6. “Perhaps

one day

I will

Unstitch my soul

From where it’s

Sewn

To my bones

And I will

Loosen

My grip

On reality

And I will live”

Such deep thoughts and picture to reality. What is your thought process when you write? Do you need a certain vibe? Certain environment to pen down your words?

I normally listen to slow music which helps me get into a zone to pen down my thoughts, at times I simply observe what happens around me. Maybe, an incident filled with anguish and terror acts as a stimulus mostly.

7. “everyone is

a

blazing and

ardent

activist

at some point

almost

always

when it is

too late”

This is one the most common facts when it comes to humans. They act, but not when needed and do when there is no point. What are your comments on the going social issues like, women assault, casteism and religionism, reservations, and the most prominent corruptions-elections?

I have always been an ardent supporter of a country that is pro-democracy and not pro-caste. With the ongoing incidents of corruption, fallacy all I can say is, I am utterly disappointed in the system we choose to live in. Electing illiterate individuals and portraying them as demi-gods.

8. “I fear

being understood

for I’ve

yet to

understand myself.”

Many poets out there, write dark poems and even poems which are based on broken hearts and love. Do you think poets are born out of grief?

I can very well vouch for the fact that poets are born out of grief. I have been through a rough patch lately. Having been through some bad experiences can indeed played a role in my mould as a poet.

9. With being a poet, you are also an avid reader. Which are your favourite books?

Sad Girls by Lang Leav, most books written by Michael Faudet, Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger.

10. Do you have any thought of becoming a bookstagrammar or a book reviewer?

In the fairly distant future yes. For now, I plan to solely concentrate on writing.

11. One book which inspired you.

It has to be “1984” by George Orwell.

12. Many of your poems can be used for spoken poetry. Why don’t you try that?

Oh, yes indeed. I am planning to.

13. What will be your advice for other writers?

Don't let the opinion of others misguided you. Write for yourself and no one else.

14. What will your autobiography say?

Here is a story about a fool who chose the brines of chess and poetry over mortal hands and fragile hearts.


bottom of page